News » 2001 » Inamori Foundation Presents 17th Annual Kyoto Prizes


Inamori Foundation Presents 17th Annual Kyoto Prizes

Recipients to Participate in University of San Diego's Inaugural Kyoto Laureate Symposium, Feb. 6-8, 2002

KYOTO, Japan -- Nov. 10, 2001 -- The Inamori Foundation (president: Dr. Kazuo Inamori) today presented its 2001 Kyoto Prizes at the Kyoto International Conference Hall.

The Kyoto Prizes are international awards presented annually in the categories of Advanced Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy. In addition to recognizing human achievement, the Kyoto Prizes are distinctive in that they also recognize the recipients' spirit and character, which made their achievements possible. This year's laureates are as follows:

In the category of Advanced Technology, selected from the field of electronics, the 2001 Kyoto Prize laureates are Dr. Zhores Ivanovich Alferov, 71, of Russia; Dr. Izuo Hayashi, 79, of Japan; and Dr. Morton B. Panish, 72, of the United States. Collectively, these individuals have made pioneering contributions to the development of opto-electronics as we know it today, by achieving the continuous-wave operation of semiconductor lasers at room temperature. They thus paved the way for electronic devices that play an essential role in the infrastructures supporting the worldwide Information Technology (IT) revolution.

In the category of Basic Sciences, selected from the field of biological science (evolution, behavior, ecology, environment), the 2001 Kyoto Prize laureate is Professor John Maynard Smith, 81, of the United Kingdom. Professor Smith has made a groundbreaking contribution to evolutionary biology, including our understanding of the social activities of organisms and the evolution of sexual reproduction, by proposing the idea of the evolutionarily stable strategy (ESS). In doing so, he has not only contributed immensely to the development of biological science, but has also made a major impact on other disciplines, including economics and politics.

In the category of Arts and Philosophy, selected from the field of music, the 2001 Kyoto Prize laureate is Mr. Gyorgy Ligeti, 78, of Austria. Mr. Ligeti is a master of modern music who saw through the limitations of serialism, the mainstream avant-garde music of the post-World War II period. While building on the achievements of the serialists, Ligeti has established his own unique musical style that fascinates people with its rich sound and fullness of human feeling.

During the ceremonies, Inamori Foundation Chairman Ryuzo Sejima presented the laureates with academic honors, Kyoto Prize medals, and cash gifts of 50 million yen (approximately $400,000 per category) before Their Imperial Highnesses, Japan's Prince and Princess Takamado. The audience of about 1,150 included international dignitaries from the fields of academia, government, and business. In addition, past Kyoto Prize laureates in attendance included Jane Goodall (1990); Yasutomi Nishizuka (1992); Chushiro Hayashi (1995); Masatoshi Shima (1997); and Kurt Wuthrich (1998).

His Imperial Highness Prince Takamado expressed his hope that the laureates may continue their outstanding work and that the Kyoto Prizes may be instrumental in further promoting the progress of humanity and the cause of world peace. Congratulatory messages were introduced from Japanese Prime Minister Jun-ichiro Koizumi; U.S. President George Bush; Russian President Vladimir Putin; U.K. Prime Minister Tony Blair; and Austrian President Thomas Klestil.

Commemorative Lectures and Workshops will take place in each category November 11-12 in Kyoto. In addition, from February 6-8, 2002, the laureates will participate in the inaugural Kyoto Laureate Symposium at the University of San Diego's Joan B. Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice in San Diego, California.